Meek Mill returns to rap with new EP, 'Legends Of The Summer' [Stream]

Meek Mill remains thick in the midst of his legal battle, and it should therefore be unsurprising that motifs from both Mill’s ongoing motion to appeal for a new trial and his preceding time in prison surface on his new EP, Legends Of The Summer, surprise released on July 6.

The four-track offering includes “Stay Woke,” the single that Mill originally debuted duet style with Miguel at the BET Awards in June 2018. “Dangerous,” a collaboration with Jeremih and PnB Rock, “1am,” and Swizz Beatz feature “Millidelphia,” comprise the remaining three songs of Legends Of The Summer, a politicized production that lyrically references the U.S. justice system and relatedly, the need for prison reform. Legends Of The Summer is a cerebral work that marks Mill’s fullest musical release since his April 2018 release from prison.

Photo Credit: Kevin Mazur/Getty Images for BET

H/T: Stereogum