Tame Impala reveal new song from forthcoming LP, ‘Posthumous Forgiveness’ – Dancing Astronaut

Tame Impala have shared another track ahead of their upcoming fourth studio album, The Slow Rush. The new single, “Posthumous Forgiveness,” follows October-released “It Might Be Time” and “Borderline.” The psychedelic project is led by creative visionary and frontman Kevin Parker, who recorded, produced, and mixed the forthcoming LP. The Slow Rush will arrive on Feb. 14, 2020.

“Posthumous Forgiveness” revels in a little more than six minutes of somber psychedelia—commanding dream-like nostalgia in signature Tame Impala style. Significantly more melancholic to previous singles, the track delves into the death of Parker’s father with cutting lyricism and haunting vocals masking it as one of Tame Impala’s most emotionally heavy songs yet. Weeping guitar riffs and harpsichords pervade “Posthumous Forgiveness” before transitioning into a hopeful outro reminiscent of the track’s title.

The Slow Rush is available for pre-order here.

Photo credit: Neil Krug