Weekend Rewind: Four Tet’s Essential Mix turns 10 ahead of ‘Sixteen Oceans’ – Dancing Astronaut

It’s been more than a decade since Four Tet debuted on BBC Radio 1’s Essential Mix. Since then, the prolific producer has released five studio albums from 2010’s There is Love in You to 2015’s Morning/Evening and 2017’s New Energy. Now, Four Tet has poised himself to deliver his newest LP Sixteen Oceans due in March—having unveiled singles “Baby” with Ellie Goulding and “Teenage Birdsong.”

Introducing Four Tet’s eclectic ambient sound, the mix journeys through a mind-bending array of selections from distinguished artists including Robert Owens, Floating Points, Joy Orbison, Pryda, Moodymann, and more. Opening with his own track “Angel Echoes,” Four Tet dives into cosmic nuances before trading mesmerizing sonics for house and techno rhythms that range from old-school Detroit stylings to progressive touches. The electronic aficionado also throws in his remix of Joe Goddard‘s “Apple Bobbing” and Eluvium’s “The Motion Makes Me Last.”

Photo credit: Cracked Mag