Dive Into A State Of Trance’s 2023 Tune Of The Year Special

Take a look back at what Armin’s brand considers the best tracks to be featured through its radio station.

It’s that time of the year again. We’re closing our current year duties, starting to write our endless resolutions, and summarising what 2023 was like. One of those entities currently taking a look at the last 365-day cycle is none other than Armin van Buuren‘s radioshow. We’re, of course, talking about A State Of Trance.

Last week, the ASOT guys held a very special episode, in which, instead of showcasing the new music far and wide across the Trance-and-relatives spectrum, they ventured down the path of recapping. And so, ASOT 1152 aired as a four-hour special edition showcasing the 50 biggest Trance records this year brought us.

ASOT 1152: The Countdown

With the legends Armin van Buuren, Ferry Corsten and Ruben de Ronde all wearing the most elegant suits, and the studio filled to the brim with avid collaborators, crew and listeners, this special ASOT episode counted down the best Trance tracks they played throughout the year. This list was crafted with thousands of votes from the audience, and features tunes like ilan Bluestone‘s sensational Chicane feat. Moya Brennan‘s ‘Saltwater‘ remix, Giuseppe Ottaviani‘s ‘To The Stars‘, and the Aly & Fila, Chapter 47, and Richard Bedford collaboration ‘Edge of Tomorrow‘.

The Winner

Although some predicted it, it’s a gold medal we’re all glad to see. The most influential masterminds of Trance collided this year and joined forces on a super unique piece: Armin van Buuren, Ferry Corsten, Rank 1 & Ruben de Ronde – Destination (A State of Trance 2024 Anthem). Voted by the people as the best tune of the entire year, this track features core elements from all artists involved, and opens the gates to a very, very awaited return of the Classic Trance sound. Oh, how we missed you!

Be sure to check the 1152nd ASOT episode in full by clicking below, or heading over to this link. Congratulations to all artists who contributed to the A State Of Trance sound this year. And an even greater congratulations to Armin, Ferry, Benno, Piet, and Ruben for topping the list!

[embedded content]